forgiven2

Following the conclusion of the 2016 World Championship group stage, a live draw was conducted on the stage to determine the four Quarter-finals match-ups. And despite many claiming that EU LCS’ last remaining team in the competition, H2K-Gaming, shouldn’t have any problems in order to beat CIS’ Albus NoX Luna in order to qualify to the Semi-finals, Konstantinos “FORG1VEN” Tzortziou, the team’s star ADC, has an entire different view:

His opinion is shared by support Oskar “VandeR” Bogdan, who says that an H2K win would be an “upset”:

After a rough week 1, with losses to China’s EDward Gaming and Taiwan’s ahq e-Sports Club and a sole win against Brazil’s INTZ e-Sports, H2K reinvented themselves for the second half of the group stages. Showing a much improved macro play, the team managed to claim group C’s first seed following a perfect 4-0 day, which included a tie-break against the LPL powerhouse.

FORG1VEN, with world class performances on Caitlyn and Sivir, died only once throughout all 4 matches (overall KDA of 15-1-19), helping to keep the European LCS’ hopes alive in the tournament.

Albus NoX meanwhile, became the first team coming from a Wildcard region to qualify for a World Championship’s playoffs after ending the group stage with a 4-2 record last Thursday, missing barely the first seed out of group A, following a loss against Korea’s ROX Tigers in the tie-breaker, after managing to beat the tournament favorites a few hours earlier.

However, the medical condition of their support Kirill “Likkrit” Malofeev, diagnosed with chickenpox, puts in check NoX’s future in the tournament, although the player himself affirmed that he will probably be able to play against H2K.

H2K-Gaming and Albus Nox Luna fight for a spot at the 2016 League of Legends World Championship Semi-finals next Sunday, at 3pm PST / 6pm EST / midnight CEST.

Photo courtesy of Riot Games