KeSPA announced today the format of the 2016 KeSPA Cup, which will be taking place after the 2016 World Championship between November 09-19 in Seoul and Busan. 14 teams – the top 4 from the 2016 Challengers Korea Summer plus the 10 sides from the 2016 LCK Summer Split – will be competing for a prize pool of ₩ 100,000,000 (approx. $90,000), and for the chance to represent Korea at the IEM Gyeonggi event, which will be taking place in December.

In the first round, 12 teams will play to advance to the quarter-finals, where they will be joined by ROX Tigers and KT Rolster, respectively winner and runner-up of the 2016 LCK Summer Split. The used format will be best-of-three, except the final, which will be a best-of-five.

Last year, (then) Challenger Korea side ESC Ever surprised everybody by winning the tournament, after beating freshly crowned World Champions SK Telecom T1 in the semi-finals 2-0, and CJ Entus in the great finals 3-0, which secured the rookies a spot at the IEM Cologne, where they presented themselves to the world by taking home the trophy after defeating China’s Qiao Gu Reapers in the finals 3-2.

Photo courtesy of KeSPA